Call Today 888.694.0174
How Long Will I Have to File a Lawsuit in Alabama?

How Long Will I Have to File a Lawsuit in Alabama?

Along with the other 49 states in the U.S., Alabama too has a statute of limitations that will limit the amount of time that you have to file a personal injury lawsuit. Depending on the nature of your claim, you may only have a few short years to bring suit against the party responsible for your injuries—be it a reckless driver, a careless property owner or a negligent manufacturer. For this reason, the Montgomery injury attorneys at Morris, Cary, Andrews, Talmadge & Driggers, LLC encourage you to discuss your case with our firm as soon as you have been injured. In doing so, you can ensure that your right to pursue compensation is not jeopardized by an expired statute of limitations.

Depending on the type of lawsuit that you wish to pursue, the statute of limitations will be as follows:

  • Personal Injury: 2 years from the date of injury
  • Wrongful Death: 2 years from the date of death
  • Product Liability: 2 years from the date of injury
  • Malpractice: 2 years from the date of injury
  • Property Damage: 6 years from the event
  • Breach of Contract: 6 years from the event

Unfortunately, time may be running out on your case; reach out to a Montgomery personal injury lawyer at MCATD today to find out just how much time you have left to pursue legal action. When you call our office toll-free at (888) 694-0174 or locally at (334) 316-0930, you will have the chance to discuss your case with our team at no cost to you! You can also fill out a free case evaluation form by clicking here. Either way you choose to get in touch, however, we just ask that you do so quickly.

Categories:

Contact Us Today

All Consultations Are Free and Confidential
    • Please enter your name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
    • Please enter your email address.
      This isn't a valid email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.